Presentation

Completed Product:

Intentions:

I intend to use social media to present my animated film to people. Social media such Facebook, Instagram and YouTube, is used by Billions of people everyday and posting content to reach quite a good number of people can’t be easy if knowing where to share it.

I will post my work on the ‘Our Dreams’ Facebook page I created. On the Facebook page, I had quite a few interaction on my post when I was undertaking the social media campaign for my animated film. So it would be fit to post the final product there.

Instagram shows how many people uses a certain hashtag, so it’s a good indicator of which hashtag is best to use to get some exposure.

NewGrounds:

I would also post it on NewGrounds as well to further expose my animated film. NewGrounds is a platforms where new animators and creators can present their work to the public and get a star rating on their work. The star rating is a good indicator of how much people has liked it and what quality a piece of work is at. People receive their star rating after a week.

Related image

Hashtags:

Hashtags is a method of sharing content across to people with similar interest. Hashtags is used to describe what a post is all about and bring them all in one area. For example, if I created a drawing of an anime character, then I would write “#anime” and “#drawing”. The hashtags helps me describe what it is I’m posting. Also people can click on hashtags, so if I clicked on the “#anime” that I wrote, then it would bring me to a page where other people from around the world uses the same hashtag on their post. If I’m the most recent post then I would see my posts at the top and other people’s post down below.

Considering what my animated film is about which is magic, fantasy and in my own anime style. The hashtags I will use is: #animation, #studentfilm, #anime, #magic and #fantasy. The reason why I would #studentfilm, is because it will share my animated film to a page where students will view other peoples work and perhaps inspires them which is what I wanted. I was aiming for younger audience including teens so using #studentfilm would be appropriate.

Film Festivals:

The sort of film festivals that I would enter my animated film in is: FilmFreeway, Animation-festivals.com, London International Animation Festival (LIAF) and Manchester Animation Festival.

  • FilmFreeway does more than animation festivals, it also searches for many different film festival such as documentary and music film festivals. This is a great platform to search for film festivals by putting in details such as: what sort of film festivals that I want to enter in, what entry fee that I would like to pay, the runtime of my film is and the date that is suitable for me to enter my film.

 

Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 14.23.23.png

  • Animation-Festivals.com, is a website where people can use to search for animation  festivals to submit their work in. This is good for me because I know that this website only searches for festivals that only allows animation submissions or a film festival that has an animation category.Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 14.21.54.png

 

  • London International Animation Festival, is the sort of festival that I would submit my animated film in. This animation festival is based in London which is in the UK, so therefore I have the option to attend the event in person.Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 14.22.43.png

 

  • Manchester Animation Festival, is another film festival that only allows animated films. This film allows stop motion to 2D animation which is good because my animated film is 2D, so therefore my film is eligible for submission. This film is very close to my location as well, so it gives me that option to attend the event.
  • Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 14.20.36.png
  • However, I can’t enter my animation in film festivals such as ‘Fractured Visions Film Festival’, because it got nothing to do animated films and my film is not horror. I would not submit my work in festival when it doesn’t meet any of the requirements.

    Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 14.30.08.png

    • FilmFreeWay

    FilmFreeway is a platform that helps a person to search for film festivals, so the entry criteria is different for each film festivals. For example, I would enter my film in London Super Shorts Film Festival because it has an animation category and it’s based in the UK, which means I could attend the event in person if I wanted to. They allow any genre and and genre of animation. It says that any animated film that is with 30 minutes long is eligible for submission. However, I have to pay an entry fee from $7.50 – $10. I personally would not pay an entry fee to submit my work in a film festival where I can get really good exposure in, when I can enter a different film festival that is free to submit my work in.

    Screenshot 2019-06-13 at 13.42.22.png

    • Animation-festivals.com

    Animation-festivals.com, is like FilmFreeway in terms of searching for film festivals, but this only search for festivals that only allows animation submissions or festivals that has an animation category. Therefore the entry requirements are different for each film festival. I can even go in the the search section on this website and tick either the documentaries category or the music video category, and it would still show animation film festivals.

    • London International Animation festival

    LIAF is in the UK which means I have the option to attend the event in person. It seems like that my film has to be uploaded either on YouTube or Vimeo for public viewing and then provide a link. However, I have to pay an entry fee of £15. Seems like there is no specification of what runtime that it would allow. So it seems my film is eligible for submission but I have to pay a £15 entry fee which is quite high.

    • Manchester Animation Festival

     Manchester Animation Festival, is very close to my location, so it gives me the option to attend the event. It seems like that they allow stop motion animation, 2D animation or live action short films. It says that films must be under 30 minutes as well. The conditions also say that no person who is under the age of 16 is permitted to submit a film. So it seems that my animated film meets the requirements for submitting.

    • Animation

    Animated Short Films is the category that I am interested in because my film is an animated film. I could submit my work in the student films category but the animation category is best suiting for my film. The student films category is just short film made by students but that category is vague, student film could be animations to music videos. So the best category is the animation category.

    I can’t submit my animated film in a documentary category because it’s not a documentary. I can’t submit my animated film in the music video category because it’s not a music video. The animation category is the category that I should submit my animated film in.

    Pros:

    • Film festivals is a great way to get a lot of exposure.
    • You can get your work recognise by a distributor or somebody that is interested in your work and wants to hire or work with you on a project.
    • If you attend a film festival it is a great way to network with other people.
    • There are film festivals has free submissions.
    • You can enter more than one film festival.
    • Film festivals can offer rewards such as a tittle like “Editor’s choice” award, or a cash prize if your film does well.
    • Entering your work in film festivals would look good on your CV.
    • Film festivals are easy to access.

    Cons:

    • A good majority of film festivals are not free to submit your work.
    • After paying the submission fee, your film might not even get selected for screening. Therefore, you lose money.

    Social Media:

    Pros:

    • Social is an easy way to get your film quite a bit of exposure.
    • Gathering exposure on social media is free.
    • There are hashtags and groups that you could use to help your film gather more attention from people online.
    • It’s free to join groups such as film groups or animation groups online.
    • You can view the progress of each post, seeing how many people has come across your post and how many that interacted or viewed your post.
    • You don’t have to wait to get your film out there for the public to see. Whereas, in film festivals you have to wait to see if your film has been selected for screening.
    • You can post and promote your film as many times as you want.
    • It’s easy to gain critics or comments from the public and possibly network with them.
    • There is still the possibility of your film getting recognized by a distributor on social media.
    • Social media is easy to access.

    Cons:

    • In some cases, getting recognition and a following can be a slow process.
    • If you show your film on social media first, there will a lot of film festivals that will not allow you to submit or screen your work because they only do first premiers of new content and you already premiered your work on social media.
    • This route of gaining exposure will not have a reward system such as titles like “Editor Choice” award or a cash prize.

    Conclusion:

    I have decided that my short animated film will be established on social media instead of submitting my work into a film festival because, I am use to the social route and I already made a social media campaign on Instagram for instance, back when I was promoting my idea for the animated film. So therefore I think it would suit that I posted it on there and online. I also got quite a few interactions and views when I undertaking the social campaign, so perhaps my animated film will get quite a few interactions too. I also believe that my animated film is not up to stand and not high quality to other people’s submissions into the film festivals. If it had higher quality, then I would but for now, I would post it on social media.

    Description:

    This is the description I will use fir my animated film on YouTube, Facebook and Instagram.

    “A young girl has an ambition of becoming a magician but her passion is being hindered by hash opinions from her father, she tries to convince her father that being a magician is not all that bad but will she succeed? Your heart follows your dreams, and so you must follow your heart.

    If you like this video, please subscribe.”

    Posts:

     

    Leave a comment

    Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

    Up ↑